emotions / Love / Pregnant

29 (almost 30) weeks

29 weeks

This morning I ran into some old friends at the store, and they asked how I was feeling.

My response was –

“good! a little overwhelmed.”

I walked away from that interaction puzzling why one of my first responses was on the negative side.

Am I overwhelmed by the reality of entering motherhood? The reality that as soon as baby makes his/her entrance into the world I can no longer call my life my own? The reality that I won’t get a full nights sleep again for who knows how long? The reality that money is going to be tight, especially if I get to stay home, and we’ll have to start sacrificing in painful ways?

Overwhelmed?

Yes.

But…

I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I have wanted to be a mother since I was old enough to rock a baby doll.

I have never really been able to call my life my own. You know, that whole Christian/being married/being a friend/daughter/etc/etc thing.

Sleep – it is overrated??

Who cares if we don’t get to eat out or buy fancy latte’s.

We’re having a baby, and honestly, I couldn’t be happier about it.

Our family is growing from two to three (or four if you count grumpy pants Fran), and I think we’ll be the better for it.

So, the next time someone asks me how I am feeling, I hope I answer –

“Couldn’t be better.”

Because it is true.

Oh baby, we cannot wait to meet you! Keep kicking and cooking in your mamma, and come on out when the time is right for you.

We’re so glad you are coming.

Love,
mom

One thought on “29 (almost 30) weeks

Leave a Reply

