Uncategorized

“Pork Chops & Applesauce”

I must be on some kind of TV kick.

Can anyone guess what TV show character says “Pork chops and applesauce” so distinctly that every time I say it I think of that person??

I wish I had a prize to offer the correct guesser…maybe I’ll work on that.

Okay, so for dinner last night I made pork chops with sautéed apples and polenta.

Oh. my. goodness.

It was pretty good, if I do say so myself.

Don’t apples make you think of fall?

 

 

Here is the finished product:

 

Forrest is quite possibly the best person in the world to cook for. Even when I put something less than stellar in front of him for consumption he always has something nice to say. However, last night might be one of my favorite Forrest food reactions so far – he acted so impressed and gushed over how good it tasted and how it was like something you would read in a book and wish you were eating.

Love that guy.

Well, after dinner I made the comment that waffle cones would taste so good with our homemade ice cream, but we don’t own a waffle maker so we probably couldn’t make them.

Because apparently, driving the short distance across the street to Fred Meyer to buy waffle cones was not an option.

Forrest quickly looked it up on the iPad, and before I knew it was busting out the ingredients and making one of the best waffle cones I have ever had. Well, the best waffle bowl I’ve ever had.

Check them out:

 

 

Do you see the Tigger shape? The star? The turtle?

I might have impressed Forrest with my pork chop triumph, but his masterful creation hits it out of the ball park in my book.

The crispy texture and out of this world flavor of the waffle bowl combined with the cookies n’ cream ice cream we made on Sunday was, in a word, divine.

 

 

Who knew I married such a culinary master?

 

Forget grad school! We’re going to open up an ice cream shop that serves pork chops on the side.

I mean…

I’ve included the pork recipe at the end of this post in case you are interested in making it; however, I do not know where Forrest found the waffle cone recipe. Somewhere on the interwebs.

Love,
Libs

Pork Chops with sautéed Apples and Polenta
From: Real Simple Magazine Sept 2011 Issue

Serves 4

Ingredients you’ll need:

2 tsp olive oil
4 bone-in pork chops – about 1 inch thick; 2 lbs total (Note: I used boneless pork chops and they tasted great. They were    cheaper, okay?)
2 apples, cored and sliced 1/2 inch thick (I used pink ladies because they were pretty cheap and also amazing)
1 medium onion, sliced
1 cup low-sodium chicken broth
1 Tbs cider vinegar (Okay, my mom used to make me drink this stuff to cure a sore throat and I hate the stuff. I should’ve listened to that still small voice saying “don’t put it in!” I really did not like the flavor it added to the dish, but Forrest said he couldn’t taste it. Use at your own discretion because it definitely gives the dish a vinegar flavor, at least it does for sensitive palate’s like mine.)
2 tsp light brown sugar
3 Tbs unsalted butter
3/4 cup instant polenta
2 Tbs chopped fresh chives

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Season the pork with 1/2 tsp salt and pepper and cook until browned and cooked through, 7-9 minutes per side. Transfer to a plate and tent with foil to keep warm; reserve the skillet.

Add the apples and onion to the drippings in the skillet and cook over medium-high heat, tossing frequently, until slightly softened, 6-8 minutes (I had to switch over to a large pot because my skillet wasn’t big enough for the apples, onions, liquids, and pork). Add the broth, vinegar (blech), and sugar and cook, tossing occasionally, until thickened, 3 to 4 minutes. Add 1 Tbs of the butter. Return the pork chops to the skillet and cook until warmed through, 1 to 2 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan, bring 3 cups of water to a boil. Whisk in the polenta and cook, whisking, until thickened, 3 to 4 minutes. Whisk in the remaining 2 Tbs butter, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/8 tsp pepper. Top the polenta with the pork chops and apple mixture and sprinkle with chives.

The End.

I actually bought pre-cooked polenta from Trader Joe’s, so all I had to do was warm it up in a pan. Very easy, but whisking instant polenta in water doesn’t sound too hard either.

Enjoy!

 

5 thoughts on ““Pork Chops & Applesauce”

  1. Peter, Peter, Peter. Brady that is :)

    Thanks for the great recipe. Yum.. Apple cider vinegar. “Tasty too! Just like candy!!” (who said that?)

    Waffle cones…amazing! I want to eat at your house.

Leave a Reply

