Book Review

Picket Line

For awhile I have been following a web comic called Easel Ain’t Easy. A four panel comic illustrating the daily life and adventures of author Breena Wiederhoeft is a refreshing reprieve from the wordier blogs I follow. Who doesn’t like reading a comic? They are like picture books for people older than 5.

Recently, Breena, the author of the web comic, finished and published her first graphic novel.

It’s called Picket Line.

Isn’t it beautiful??

Forrest and I pre-ordered a copy.

We’re pretty cool like that.

It’s even signed:

We picked up our copy on Saturday, and Forrest got to read it first (the lucky dog).

Now it is my turn.

(yes!)

As an aspiring librarian and wanna-be book aficionado, I can tell those of you that don’t already know that graphic novels have been up and coming for a while. At the library where I work (I’ll never, ever get tired of saying that), the shelves that contain YA graphic novels and J graphic novels are usually an unsightly mess because of how much traffic they get.

Needless to say, I’m excited to read this particular graphic novel, and I’m really excited for Breena. A few comic book stores are already picking it up, so if you are interested in acquiring a copy (you totally should), head over to the Easel Aint Easy website, or, if you are in the Portland area, you can pick up a copy at Floating World Comics (20 NW 5th Ave #101) and Bridge City Comics (3725 N. Mississippi Ave). If you are in Portland you can also borrow my copy…but only when I’m done.

At the very least, you should watch the trailer for Picket Line, which you can do here.

(Even though I know Breena, she didn’t ask me to say any of these things or promote her book. I’m doing so of my own volition and genuine excitement. Just so you know.)

Happy Monday!

Love,

Libs

Leave a Reply

