Love

Buddy

Many moons ago my little friend Caleb came to play.

Okay, okay…it wasn’t that many moons ago.

It just feels like it.

My dear friends, the Takano’s, came down to Portland a few Friday’s ago for lunch in the park and hang out time.

It is hard to believe that Caleb is already 1 and already showing his personality and genius. This kid is amazing. Rather than just tell you what we did (eat, talk, laugh, play) I want to tell you a few of the reasons that I love this kid.

Reason 1:

Look at that smile!

Those teeth just kill me.

Reason 2:

He is SO smart! I loved being able to witness, even for just an afternoon, his development and growth in:

  • communicating through words and gestures
  • motor abilities (he’s learning to walk and doing so good!)
  • his sweet, albeit rambunctious personality.

Reason 3:

He was so gentle with Fran. Now, Fran does not always do so well with people getting up in her business. Frankly, neither do I, but that is a whole other ball of counseling. Anyway, Caleb treated Fran with respect and when he pet her he was so, so gentle. Seriously, I was impressed.

Reason 4:

During lunch I had the privilege of sharing my fries my Caleb. Now, there are a few foods that I’m especially reticent to share: french fries would be at the very top of the list. However, I loved sharing them with Caleb. Partly because every time he wanted another one he’d stick out his finger and say: “moe” which would melt this Auntie Libs’s heart immediately. (Libs’s or Libs’? How does that work when the word ends with an s? Missy?)

Reason 5:

He is content to play with just about anything. For example, he loved going up and down the stairs in my house and he loved throwing my balls of yarn down said steps. We had a blast!

I’m going to stop with the reasons for now, but suffice it to say that Caleb is definitely one of the good ones.

I just love him.

Love,

Auntie Libs

2 thoughts on “Buddy

  1. Awww!! What a sweet blog!! Thanks for loving my kid the way you do :) He sure is fond of his Auntie Libs, and if that’s mostly because she shares fries, well, his reasons will mature as he does.

    I concur with Danielle. It is Libs’s. There are exceptions to every rule in English, of course, but in general you’ll add ‘s to any singular noun to make it possessive. And no apostrophe necessary if you’re adding an s to make something plural (Takanos and Fridays, not Takano’s and Friday’s.) Here’s a super concise and helpful explanation: http://www.englishrules.com/writing/2005/possessive-form-of-singular-nouns-ending-with-s/

Leave a Reply

