Food / Francie / Love

things i like

1. Rhubarb cobbler, recipe courtesy of The Pioneer Woman

Seriously, the first word that came to mind when I tasted a top piece of piping hot crust was “drool.”

Sophisticated, I know.

And just so you know, I used shortening, not the lard that PW recommends. I just can’t stand the thought of you mistakingly assuming that I’m going around baking lard goodies willy nilly.

Shudder.

2. Kittens

Every once in awhile one of the many feral cats that inhabit our yard (and treat it like a freakin’ kitty litter box) have kittens. These little guys have been hanging out by our front door for the last few days, but every time I try to get near them they dash into the blackberry bushes.

I don’t think you can tell from this picture but the little gray kitten is missing an eye.

Oh man.

I have to be honest with you guys, I love that little kitten with my whole heart.

Here’s why:

a.) He only has one eye

b.) Even though he only has one eye he is ten times more feisty than his (or her?) two eyed sibling

Last night when I came home they were playing by the front door and I walked up real slow and quiet, hoping they would deem me friendly and let me pet them. The momma cat took off first without even warning her babies (sheesh), and then the gray and white one took off next. What about the one-eyed, gray one? He kept playing, oblivious to my nearness. He was batting his paws up the pole, climbing over the piece of wood, and generally having a great ol’ time. Then, when he saw me he took off.

I’ve tried convincing Forrest that we should have a kitten.

And not just any kitten…this little one eyed guy.

I gave a very persuasive argument.

Ready?

In order to be a ‘librarian’ I need to have:

a.) glasses

b.) a bun

c.) a cat

Since I have 20/20 vision and short hair the obvious choice is to obtain letter c.

He didn’t buy it.

3. Fran

You have to admit that a one-eyed kitten is a heck of a lot cuter than whatever that animal is basking in the sun.

Cameron and Christy snapped this photo last Friday while sunning themselves on our deck.

That dog makes me laugh so hard.

4. You.

Thanks for reading this blog o’ mine.

You’re the best.

Up next: hopefully a book review of The Trouble with May Amelia.

Love,

Libs

Leave a Reply

