Job / Library

Doorways

Soon and very soon I hope to post some pictures of our strawberry plant (it’s a thing of beauty) and my first book review in a looooong time.

For now, I’d like to tell you about doorways.

During my orientation into the life and breath of Fort Vancouver Regional Library I learned that everyone has doorways that they read through.

Hmm…what does that mean?!

Well, a pretty brilliant librarian named Nancy Pearl (she has her own action figure) explained that people read books based on their doorway of choice. The doorways are:

Plot (the pace and story line)

Character (the people in the story)

Setting (a specific location, sensory aspects of the story, etc)

Language (poetic, literary aspects)

So, for example, I typically choose books that have a plot driven doorway (Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Room by Emma Donoghue, Delirium by Lauren Oliver), but sometimes I go through a character doorway (Freedom by Jonathan Franzen or A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith), a setting doorway (The Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper), or a language doorway (Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool or The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery).

Pretty cool, right?

They taught us this doorway thing to aid in readers advisory with customers at the library.

Awesome!

Actually, I think readers advisory is going to be the redeeming quality of librarianship. All of these theory or technology classes that have me pulling out my hair are okay because I still get to talk to people about books and introduce people of all ages to stories of all kinds.

Coming up: A review of Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Love,

Libs

One thought on “Doorways

  1. Thank you Elizabeth… and Nancy Pearl for sharing about Doorways. It’s a wonderful tool that I’ll use in choosing books from now on. Love it!!! I LOVE having a Librarian in the family :)

Leave a Reply

