Food / Francie / Home

Fantastic Friday

Jillian Michaels, if you for some reason are reading this blog, please stop right now.  The following information will make you mad and may or may not result in you yelling at me for making poor choices.

Now that I got that out of the way.

Behold the beauty of homemade glazed doughnuts:

Yep. I made those.

Aren’t they just so pretty??

Caution: eating two of said doughnuts will result in a rather nauseating feeling that will only get worse as the smell of canola oil and glaze permeates the house for several hours post hence.

Fran, would you like a doughnut???

Well, you aren’t getting one.

I also made what I like to call “casserole of amazingness” for breakfast this morning:

Geez, over-achiever much?

What can I say? Having my husband home on a weekday makes me go a little berserk in the kitchen.

I don’t think he minds.

We enjoyed the casserole and cups of Trader Joe’s brew on our deck in the glorious sunshine (thank you Portland for giving us a break from the rain and showing us that blue skies do in fact still exist).  The doughnuts were consumed earlier. Basically, they were consumed right after I attempted to get as much of the oil soaked onto paper towels instead of the doughnut as I could and the glaze had set.

Anyway…

Fran loves soaking up the warmth.

Sigh.

Sunshine, Forrest home for the day, silly looking dog, mystery/thriller on hold at the library for me, good food…does it get any better than this?

Fantastic Friday. I love alliteration and I love that ‘fantastic’ is so appropriate for the food created so far, but is also appropriate for all of us who recognize Good Friday. I’m so thankful for the sacrifice made and the grace and love that is always available.

“But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed.”  Isaiah 53:5

Good Friday indeed.

Have a happy Easter weekend!

*you can find the doughnut recipe here.

*here is my adaptation of my mom’s fantastic casserole:

  • 6-8 eggs
  • 1 cup milk (I used whole milk because I had leftover from making the doughnut glaze)
  • Grated cheese (the amount and type of cheese is your preference. I probably used about a cup)
  • can of diced green chili’s
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • any veggies you feel like throwing in (I used asparagus cut up into tiny bites)

Beat the eggs senseless, then add the rest of the ingredients. Pour into casserole dish, of if you don’t own one (like me) pour into a shallow pie dish. Bake at 350 until it’s done. Ha! I love how un-scientific this is. I didn’t really time it, I just kept checking it until the eggs didn’t jiggle in the middle. When it’s done, turn the oven to broil and put the dish on the highest rack.  Keep an eye on it so it doesn’t burn, but I loved the look and flavor of the dish after it sat under the broiler for awhile.

SO GOOD!

2 thoughts on “Fantastic Friday

  1. I want to come to your house….SERIOUSLY!! Great job on the doughnuts and egg dish. Yum!!! Can’t wait to try your broiler idea as well as asparagus. Again..YUM!!

    Have a blessed Easter weekend. He is Risen! He has Risen Indeed!!

Leave a Reply

