Reading

I think I have a problem…

Hi. My name is Elizabeth and I am a book-a-holic.

Admitting you have a problem is the first step to recovery, right?

I went to the library this afternoon to check out some books for a school assignment and while I was there I couldn’t help wandering around and picking up books I have no business reading.

I’m not talking about trashy novels. I’m talking about too much homework and I don’t have time to read a lot of ‘extra’ books.

But I just can’t help myself!

I think it might be a sickness.  I usually end up returning most of the books I impulsively check out, but there is something so exciting about going to a building filled to bursting with books and I can take home any of them….FOR FREE.

I’ll never get over that.

So here’s my dilemma. I need help deciding what I will make time to read at this current moment. I’ve made a solemn vow never to take school books to bed with me (it’s just not worth it), so I need a good night-time read.

Here are the options:

The Know-It-All by A. J. Jacobs

I’ve already mentioned this one. I have been reading it and it is hilarious! It actually makes me laugh out loud sometimes. This is the perfect book for reading small portions of, setting down, and then returning weeks later without feeling like you’ve forgotten anything.

Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon

Forrest and I found this Pulitzer Prize winner at Goodwill for $6!!! Amazing. I’ve started this one as well and usually have a hard time motivating myself to get back to reading it, but I always enjoy it once I’m back.

An Object of Beauty by Steve Martin

Doesn’t this one look so good?? This is my latest impulsive choice from my visit to the library. It’s my Lucky Day!

Poser: My Life in Twenty-Three Yoga Poses by Claire Dederer

I’m really excited to read this one.  My sister-in-law, Annika, is letting me borrow it.  I think it will be along the same lines as the A. J. Jacobs book or similar to Eat, Pray, Love. It is a true story.

Finally, Freedom by Jonathan Franzen

This one is HUGE. I really want to read it though…Not entirely sure what it is about, but it’s pretty popular.

There you have it. Which one do I read?????

Update: My group project on Saturday went pretty good. I made the entire class say the word “rural” with me so they could appreciate how difficult it was to say.  Unfortunately, there were aspects of the presentation and the whole process that frustrated me and raised unnecessary anxiety. Group projects are still my least favorite part of grad school.

On the flip side: I was able to work in a team environment on Monday at the Tigard Public Library for their 39 Clues party.

Oh my goodness.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the series, they are essentially adventure/mystery books for kids.  The books are really interactive because you can collect cards, go online and do scavenger hunt type things, and join this whole community of kids reading the books. It’s pretty cool.

So the party was held in a big conference room with different stations and activities. My station was one of the busiest and I got to hang out with kids, help them make bracelets, and get a small taste of what being a youth librarian would be like.

It left me pretty excited.  That kind of team work is something I would love to be a part of.

Anyway, I’ve got so much homework to do that if I spend any more time procrastinating (aka writing this post) I’ll probably flunk grad school.

(Just kidding).

Till next time.

(Also, it just thundered here. Weird.)

6 thoughts on “I think I have a problem…

  1. hmmmm, i quit halfway through cavalier and klay because i was a little bored. but i adore steve martin’s prose! you should go for that one. but really, they all sound good. not helpful, right?
    hey, as a budding youth librarian, do you have any thoughts on the hunger game series? i just finished 2/3 and am entranced/horrified by the series.

  2. Thanks for the advice!
    So, Hunger Games…I love, love, love that series. I started the first one on the recommendation of Amy Wood and was also horrified/entranced by it. That’s a perfect way of saying it. I own the third book if you’d like to borrow it. :)
    Also, of course Hollywood is turning it into a movie. I’m curious to see what that will be like.

  3. thunder? it never thunders in Portland? TSUNAMI WARNING!!!!! sorry couldn’t help myself :)

    ahem….i say do the Rory. line the books up and when you get tired of one move on to the next. but then you are talking to a full blown book-a-holic who collects books like Portland collects rain. And no 12 step programs for me…I’m a lifer. :)

    Happy Reading!!!!!!!!

  4. This is terrible, because I’m dying to nab “Poser”, “An Object of Beauty” AND “Freedom”…and the only reason I don’t want the other two are because I’ve already read them! But I’d be really curious to hear what you think about “Freedom”, so I say that one. Looking forward to seeing you in class soon! Unfortunately, not looking forward to the class itself…

    • Alyssa, we must have the same taste in books! I am currently reading “Room” but after that I really do want to read “Freedom”! Looking forward to seeing you on Saturday too!

Leave a Reply

