Book Review

Ship Breaker

Imagine life on the beach. I’m not talking about white sands, warm water, and blue sky.  Instead, imagine a beach where oil tankers are beached, shacks are barely standing upright, and the water is slick with oil.  The sound of hammers ringing and torches roaring accompany the people crawling all over the old tanker to strip it of any valuable materials that can then be sold.  What I’ve just described is the futuristic world that Nailer fights to survive in.  Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi was the 2011 Printz winner, and was a little bit more intense than I had anticipated.  In fact, sometimes I would even cover the page to shield myself from whatever was coming.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nailer, a teenage boy, has lived his whole life at Bright Sands Beach, off the Gulf Coast.  He works on light crew, crawling through the air ducts of the old tankers pulling out all the copper he can in order to make quota for his crew.  When Nailer and his friend Pima find a fancy clipper ship crashed after a hurricane they think they have found their lucky break.  The wealth from the ship would be enough to get them out of their current situation and be richer than they’d ever dreamed.  Instead they find Nita, the swank who is the sole survivor of her ship. What follows is a race to escape the people who are after Nita as well as Nailer’s dad, who wouldn’t hesitate to kill his only son in order to get ahead.  The story takes us, the reader, to the Orleans, the high seas, and back to Bright Sands for a final stand-off.

Reader, if you are a brave soul I heartily recommend this adventure, but if you are at all squeamish I suggest you leave it where it is…comfortably on the shelf.

This past weekend was extremely relaxed.  Forrest and I both came down with some kind of sinus bug so on Sunday we stayed home and drank a lot of herbal tea.  While Forrest diligently worked on homework I worked on a little hat for my favorite little guy in the whole world.  Missy, here is the progress of the ROAR:

That little blob off to the side is the first of five spikes. I’m so excited about this hat! I’ll post a picture once I’m all done.

Till next time…

3 thoughts on “Ship Breaker

  1. IT IS AWESOME!!! I can’t wait to put it on his big round head! Thanks friendy! Caleb is quite honored to be your favorite little guy.

    In other news, great review. I generally avoid dystopian settings but you made this sound compelling. Perhaps I’ll give Nailer and his Ship Break a try.

  2. LOVE the hat!! Oh my word!!! I can’t believe all the things you can knit. You amaze me. Can’t wait to see the finished product. On and off the boy :)

    The book sounds like something I would really enjoy. I like the kind that make you afraid to turn the page :)

Leave a Reply

