Reading / School

goings on of late…

I just noticed that my last blog post was September 4.  Today is…ahem…October 20.  Ooops.  What can I say?  When I’m not doing homework I’m doing laundry or cleaning up, and when I’m not cleaning up I’m reading books for my book club or for the mock-newbery in December (yes!!! I’m going this year!!!!), and when I’m not reading I’m probably hanging out with Stella and Finn, and when not playing pirates I’m probably watching mindless tv, and when I’m not…well, you get the general idea.  But, at the moment I’m boycotting homework because my small brain can’t take anymore information and I’ve already cleaned, etc so here I am.

School is…trucking right along.  I really do love it, but the homework is a bit much and I HATE presentations.  I had to give a five minute presentation about LibraryThing on Monday night via a web-conference (shudder) and it was less than ideal.  Oh well.  I have another presentation on Saturday and I’m quaking in my boots a bit.  I’m ready for this week to be over!!!  (Okay, I’ve complained enough.)

On the bright side of school, I really like my teachers, I really like the class material (for the most part), and most of all, I really like the reality of becoming a librarian.  I’m still volunteering on Tuesday nights, and even though I always leave sore (lifting books is hard, okay?) and really, really tired I’m still thankful to be in that environment for awhile.

Exciting news: I’ve joined a book club with librarians (most of them work in youth services) and teachers and we sit around eating eating pizza and drinking wine while talking about recently published children’s books.  It’s amazing, and those women are, in my opinion, living the dream. :)   Also, as I mentioned earlier, I’m going to the mock Newbery for Multnomah County in December!!! Yeah!  I’m so excited!  And despite all the homework I’m still finding time to read as many books as I can.  I just finished The Kneebone Boy by Ellen Potter and it was amazing!  I recommend it!

Now, I’m going to wrap this up so I can spend an evening with Forrest while still ignoring my homework.

Till next time…

3 thoughts on “goings on of late…

  1. Hooray for a new posting! I’ve needed a brain feed of your writing and feel very satisfied. Thank you for posting in the midst of all the busyness….we’ll take whatever you can give :)

  2. Oh I love this post! The whole time I kept thinking in my head, “Yeah!” “Oh cool” “Nice!!”. Here are some other concrete thoughts I had: I envy you pursuing your dream of becoming a librarian!! I totally know “LibraryThing”! Pizza & wine sounds heavenly. Yay for going to the mock newbery!! How exciting. You’ll need to tell us all about it. And thank you for the book recommendation. I’ll look into it. Did I tell you I’m reading “Three Cups of Tea”?

Leave a Reply

