Newbery Book Review

Up a Road Slowly, why I quit Facebook, and how it’s changing my life

Hello old friend!  It’s been awhile since we’ve met like this and I really don’t have any good reasons for my absence.   But I’m back!  Since I’ve been gone quite a bit has changed and I’d love to fill you in…

  1. I’m officially going back to school (Woot!) and start at the beginning of August.  All kinds of excitement, fear and drama are preceding my re-entrance into academia, which makes all of this so much more interesting.  My favorite so far has been the puzzled look on people’s faces when I say I want to be a librarian.  Apparently it’s not on the top 10 list of jobs most wanted.
  2. I quit Facebook.  So, if you’re thinking I de-friended you and have changed my name to prevent you from finding me you can lay that fear to rest.  This has been something I’ve been thinking about for quite a while and have weighed the pros vs. the cons.  For example, I absolutely love seeing pictures of relatives that I otherwise wouldn’t see and keeping up on what everyone’s doing.  On the flip-side, I was wasting A LOT of time on it.  Hours a day actually.  When it came down to it I felt like I was feeding the illusion of keeping in touch with people when in actuality I was just spying on them without any contact.  Now, these reasons are just for me and I don’t judge or look down on all of you who are still facebooking (it really is a verb).  To be honest, quitting it has been very liberating.  I have so much more free time and while I know I’ll probably just get into some other rut I’m hoping to use my time more effectively and not stare at a computer screen forever and ever amen.
  3. Forrest and I have started a Library adventure (sounds pretty exciting and dangerous doesn’t it?), which is pretty awesome.  We made a map of all the Multnomah county libraries and are visiting them one by one.  On Monday we took the day off and went to see North Portland, Kenton and St. Johns.  So awesome.  I’ll be including pictures and my thoughts on each one on this here site.
  4. My hair fits into very tiny pig tails.  It makes me feel like I’m four and I love it.

Now to the book that won the hearts of librarians everywhere in 1967!!  Well…it won the hearts of the Newbery committee.  I’m not sure about the rest of those crazy librarians.

Up A Road Slowly by Irene Hunt has a ridiculously cheesy cover…

…but was actually a wonderful book and totally one I would have read as a kid.  The story is about Julie who is sent to live with her Aunt Cordelia when her mom dies.  Aunt Cordelia lives in a huge house in the country and is your typical spinster who believes in tons of rules and a proper way of living.  Underneath it all, like you would expect, she has a heart of gold.  Like so many other Newbery winners this is a coming of age story with all the painful emotional moments of a hormonal girl.  I dog-eared some pages that had stuff I especially liked and I’ll share those with you now.

“There was freedom in blue jeans that delighted me and brought me into closer relationship with Chris and Danny.  Now I could straddle a horse with the same ease that the boys did when we rode over the country roads together.”  (p. 27-28)

umm…I didn’t know my mom (as a kid) was in this book!:)

“Finally he spoke, almost as if to himself, “It happens the world over – we love ourselves more than we do the one we say we love.  We all want to be Number One; we’ve got to be Number One or nothing!…No sir, we’ve got to be Number One, and if we can’t make it, we’ll rip and tear at the loved one till we’ve ruined every smidgen of love that was ever there.” (p. 39) 

umm…I think I need to be reminded of that every day.

Library Adventure #1 North Portland library on Killingsworth

I felt a little funny about this one.  First of all I felt really self-conscious taking a picture of it (Forrest actually was the photographer of all of these Library pics) and then walking in I felt like I needed to have a reason to be there – that looking around wasn’t reason enough.  It is a lot smaller than I was anticipating and there was a strange smell, which I guess is not all that uncommon at the library.  In truth, I just felt like I didn’t belong there…at first.  But then I started to look around and found an awesome book about walking and the staff was really nice.  I might have initially felt like a stranger entering someone else’s home but I think if I lived in that neighborhood and visited there regularly I would love this little branch with all my heart.

With each library I’ve visited I’ve jotted down my first impressions of it (this is probably going to be your only chance to read my diary so if I were you I’d be feeling pretty special right about now):

  • Brick
  • Smaller than expected
  • Small aisles
  • Felt funny taking picture and walking in

Apparently I’m not a very gifted writer when it comes to bullet style first impressions. :)

Till next time!

2 thoughts on “Up a Road Slowly, why I quit Facebook, and how it’s changing my life

  1. I’m sitting in CM, Thailand reading this posting and loving every word. I love that you blaze your own trails and find delight in so many things. I love that you are on a Library hunt…I mean really…how creative and fun are you two!! The two books that I’ve picked up in our room in CM have smelled awful. Not sure if it’s mold or just …well…the smell of a different Country. So I pick up the ones I brought from the States and settle into its pages with great contentment.

    Thanks for posting again. I’ve missed you! And can we have a picture of your cute pig tails? It makes me smile to think of how cute you must be.

    Hugs from the other side of the world.

  2. Yay for your blog! I have been slacking on mine and finally posted something last week but I fully intend to keep posting again.

    I’m proud of you and your decision to quit facebook. Although I will be selfish and say that I will miss looking up your photos and wishing I was where you are (well, the wishing part will still be there!).

    And I am totally jealous of your library hunt. Actually, I’m planning on doing a similar thing with libraries here in Japan but I just need to get going on it…

Leave a Reply

