School

Word of the day

The word of the day is inchoate, which means: In an initial state; not fully formed.

Before I say anything else I want to say that I miss this place.  Even though it hasn’t been that long since I was serious about my quest and writing every week it feels like it has been a long time and I’m ready to dive back in.  Unfortunately, that will have to wait.

A wise and trusted friend said to me the other day: “You should go to grad school.”  I replied, “To study what?” “Library science,” she said.  When I graduated from Multnomah I thought I’d never go back to school.  I was done with papers, tests, grades and all the stress and headache those things bring.  But from one casual remark from said trusted friend I haven’t been able to stop thinking about going back to school.  In some ways, now that I am staring the possibility of grad school and being a librarian in the face I feel like it’s actually been in front of my face for a long time now and I’ve just been too blind to see it.

Inchoate: an initial stage.  This Sunday I’m taking my GRE and praying despartely that I don’t bomb it.  The GRE is the initial stage towards getting accepted to grad school and I’m quaking in my boots.  This last week has been dominated by vocab and math with a good dosing of tears mixed in.  If I don’t get the scores I need then I’ll just take it again (and with most things in life I usually do better the second time), but I’m hoping for a miracle.  So, if you think about me this Sunday around 9 am please pray for my sanity and reasoning skills while I tackle antonyms, geometry and a whole host of other really confusing stuff.

So I might be absent from this place for awhile.  Please don’t forget about me.  I shall return!

Till next time…

3 thoughts on “Word of the day

  1. Your Mom told me about your test, and as one who’s seen MORE than her fair share, I understand the quaking feeling you are currently experiencing. I have been praying for you and I will be fasting for you during the exam. Your Mom was so loving and generous to fast during my board exam and just knowing she was behind me made me more calm. I’ve been reading your blog and I have no doubt that you can do it! Have no fear. . .your Maker has endowed you with a wonderful gift and I believe you are more than qualified for this.

  2. Inchoate…I’m filing that for future use! I love hearing new words and broadening my vocabulary. I agree with Jami! You have/are a wonderful gift and more than qualified for this adventure. Your initial state may be scared at the test that looms BUT it’s one more tool in becoming a fully formed writer, librarian, and extremely creative woman. I’m so proud of you!!! You go girl!!

Leave a Reply

