Love / Reading

“Lisztomania”

So a very good friend of mine, let’s call her ‘Missy’ for now, mentioned this evening that I needed to start blogging again.  I said that I hadn’t been because I’m still dragging my feet with The Giver and when that excuse didn’t hold up I said I was taking a break for the summer.  Well, break officially over!  And, nope, I’m not going to talk about The Giver yet.  Not gonna.  Instead I would like to give you a list (one of the great loves of my life) of the things that have made summer 09 so beautiful.

1. A French band called Phoenix. Forrest and I first heard their song Lisztomania on Saturday Night Live and I definitely have a voice crush on the nerdy lead singer.  Oh man.  Forrest knows so it’s okay.  We bought their cd Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix last night and it is, in a word: brilliant!

2. Camping.  Forrest and I celebrated our one year anniversary last Friday at Frog Lake and it was amazing.  I froze most of the time but the camp fire was warm, the coffee soothing and the company the best in the whole world.  I learned two valuable lessons though: 1. kids are really annoying and parents even more so, and 2. don’t ever forget to bring a warm hat when you’re camping.  It doesn’t matter if it’s August.  Bring it and you won’t be sorry.  I forgot and I was sorry.

3. Books!  Oh the books I’ve read.  It’s hard to believe what a fantastical journey I’ve taken through the written word starting in late May.

Ahem..

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell was AMAZING.  Beyond my expectations in fact.  I was sad and frustrated to have it end because I wasn’t ready to say good bye to the characters.  I’d grown too accustomed to watching their lives unfold and I wasn’t too keen on the idea of just letting that go.  (I know I’m a nerd so there is no use in telling me.)  I really should have a whole blog dedicated to this brilliant piece of work but this space will have to suffice.

Ignatius MacFarland : Frequenaut! was real cute.  I definitely enjoyed it.

The Van Gogh Cafe was pretty cool.  It was very poetic.  I read it in probably an hour but am thankful for the story that I now have shelved away somewhere in my brain.

The Lightning Thief as well as books 2,3 and 4 in this series. WOW. These ones really are good and suck you in quickly.  I definitely love me some Percy Jackson.

Marcelo in the Real World was so awesome! It’s about a boy with Asperger’s syndrome and it was fascinating to see the world the way he did.  This one brought out some pretty strong emotions for me, such as, anger at the injustice done to those deemed less intelligent.  I also found some kind of security in the orderly way that he processed life.

Bone: volume 1,2,3.  I’m not much of a graphic novel person.  My familiarity with comics pretty much all has to do with Archie, Betty and Veronica.  But this graphic novel is delightful to say the least.  The colors are amazing and the story even better.  There are nine volumes all together and I can’t wait to read them all.

To name the last few: Alice in Wonderland, Diary of a Wimpy Kid #3, The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet (currently reading.)

There’s my summer folks!  A few other highlights: Arizona Adventure, berry picking, Audubon society, Johnson family reunion, spider terrors and heat wave.

(as a disclaimer: not ALL kids and parents are annoying. the family camping next to us with the child screaming from somewhere else in the camp for her mom while the mom didn’t do anything was pretty annoying, as was the kid waiting ouside the bathroom while I tried painfully to poop saying “come on! i gotta go! i can’t hold it!”)

3 thoughts on ““Lisztomania”

  1. Best. Blog. Ever.

    I am so glad you’re again gracing the blogosphere with your wit!

    Sincerely,
    someone we’ll call ‘Missy’ for now

  2. I agree with someone we will call “Missy” for now. I’ve missed you in blog world. You always sweep me away into a very blissful land that is hard to leave. So keep blogging!

    Oh and I still say you should have screamed “snake” and the kid would have peed his pants on the spot and you’d have had all the time in the world to poop.

    hugs and happy reading and writing.

Leave a Reply

