Newbery Book Review

Walk Two Moons

6a00d8341c52c453ef010536b9c4a0970b-320wiOne of the most beautiful stories I’ve read in a long time is Walk Two Moons. It was a story that I had difficult time putting down and was sad to see end. Something about it resonated deeply with me, and I wish I had a copy of the book with me right now so that I could pull out some of the more powerful sections and talk to you about them. But, I don’t own a copy, and I read this one a few months ago so it is already back on its shelf at the library or in the hands of some other lucky reader.

Even though I don’t have the book in front of me I do have some of my initial thoughts that I jotted down (in a bulleted list of course) about the story.

First of all, the book felt like a story within a story within another story. Three plot lines are all going on at once with the main character, Sal, who is a young teenage girl, guiding you through them.

Second, there are several proverbs sent as messages from a mysterious stranger to one of Sal’s friends. Somehow they seem to apply to the story as a whole and left me thinking about them even after I set the book down.

Third, I wrote in my notes: “The way that the story is written makes you feel like you are experiencing what is going on firsthand. The author does this effortlessly.” So much of the time I felt like I was Sal and was feeling and experiencing everything that she was. To me, this is one of the true marks of a good writer…someone who gives you the privilege to walk around in someone else’s skin and see the world a completely different, or sometimes comfortingly similar way.

Fourth, I love Sal. Pure and simple. She is one of my favorite characters found in a book and if she was real I would want to be her friend. (Just like how I feel about Kristin in Biggest Loser.)

Fifth, there is a random romance in the story that, surprisingly, doesn’t come across as cheesy or fake but beautiful. I have found in teen books especially that the romance on the page often makes me want to roll my eyes or shudder from the sheer embaressment of it all. But in this story, for some reason it just makes sense.

Sixth, and lastly, the characters are all really honest. I’m not entirely sure what I meant by that when I jotted it down other than you kind of feel like you could run into any of these characters in real life and they would be familiar and understandable. The grandparents in the story, who are precious, could just as easily be your grandparents or mine.

This is a must read. I firmly believe that this award was well deserved, and I hope at least some of you will go out and read it.

On a different note altogether, I am rather proud of myself this weekend because for the first time in my life I made granola. Everyone who knows me knows I love me some cereal and now I know how to make it from scratch! Thanks to Molly Wizenburg for putting up the recipe, which you can find here. Here is a picture of my beautiful granola. (I burned the first batch but the second batch is so good it made up for it!)

granola

3 thoughts on “Walk Two Moons

  1. yeah for making granola from scratch!! it looks so delicious that i’d like to scrath and sniff and grab a spoon! i can’t wait to make it for myself.
    so i’d forgotten about the “blog” world until today. so i spent time catching up by reading all your posts. how enjoyable it was to read your reviews and get a glimpse of life through your eyes. it was sad coming to the last one…and yet fruitful because now i have a list for my next library visit. i love your grand adventure and look forward to your reviews. happy reading!!!

  2. 1. you’ve convinced me; i REALLY want to read this book.
    2. polaroid = amazing. and good job on the granola.
    3. chris brought home book 2 of the 100 cupboards series as a free advanced copy, but i haven’t yet read book 1. have you? if so, can we get a mini-review? i know it isn’t newbery…

Leave a Reply

