Newbery Book Review

The Midwife’s Apprentice

p1010003-pola03 In answer to your inevitable question: yes, that is my actual copy of year 1996 and my actual cup of coffee and my actual tabletop. Now that I’m finally getting to the books I’ve either read recently or own myself I want to post a picture of the edition I’ve read. And, I’m real excited because I found a program online that lets you download a “polaroid” camera to your hard-drive (for FREE) and take any pictures you have and turn them awesome-polaroid. I think I’m in love.

Beetle (formerly known as Brat) is the heroine of Karen Cushman’s The Midwife’s Apprentice. She is a homeless young girl who ends up becoming, you guessed it, a midwife’s apprentice. The story, although short, is a really tender picture of what it is to fail at something, give up and then try again. It is also pretty significant to notice the importance of names in this story. She starts out with the name Brat and then comes to be known as Beetle. Both of those names obviously don’t inspire a lot of respect or self worth. In choosing her own name near the end the reader witnesses a transformation in confidence. Unfortunately, because of the book’s length I found it difficult to get really invested in the story line. I liked it but didn’t love it.

Sorry this one is so short but there’s a Blazer game going on that needs my attention. Until next time…

One thought on “The Midwife’s Apprentice

  1. are you saying that Kristin from biggest loser isn’t real?!

    that is some good granola. for real.

Leave a Reply

