Newbery Book Review

Criss Cross

crisscrossl “She was thinking that the grass really could be greener on the other side of the fence. It depended on who was standing in the grass. Maybe you had to go take a look.” (pg. 329-330)

I feel at a bit of a disadvantage in writing my thoughts on this one because I read it over a year ago and don’t remember that much about it. To give myself a refresher I skimmed over the last chapter and these are my thoughts… ahem: I didn’t like this one when I read it. It didn’t seem to have a definite plot. It felt haphazard all the way through and when finishing the last page for my refresher I realized that my frustrations with the book were confirmed: nothing much happened in 300 plus pages. But when I skimmed the last chapter and remembered the ‘nothingness’ that goes on I realized that that might have been the point. Maybe the point is that sometimes life feels like not much happens or that there isn’t any definite plot. Maybe instead of taking advantage of opportunities that come along we too often let them pass us by. And this happens to most of us at one time or another. Maybe sometimes we as humans aren’t as good at knowing how to live life and we should probably take a lesson from a bunch of fireflies every once in awhile. (You’ll have to read the book to understand that reference.) Needless to say, I think I might have been looking for the wrong things in this book. I feel like I should read it again someday and not be so pessimistic about it. Instead of looking for something huge and dramatic to happen I should enjoy the uneventful ride and look for the significance there instead. All that to say: I didn’t enjoy this book during my first read through but I think a second reading might make me feel differently.

One thought on “Criss Cross

  1. I remember you disliking Criss Cross, so I’m impressed by this humble and profound thought. I watched a movie this weekend (Ghost Town – fantastic!) in which was a quote along these lines, “Your story matters. Our stories might not be dramatic or as interesting as someone else’s, but they matter… even if only to us.”

Leave a Reply

