Newbery Book Review

Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!

Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! This was an interesting read, and not at all what I was expecting. Most, if not all the Newbery books are novels, but this one dares to be different. It is made up of a series of monologues by individuals in Medieval time. Each character tells his or her story, highlighting their profession and station in a typical village, while also developing their emotions and daily drama’s.

I think I read it in one afternoon and I remember enjoying the lyrical way that it flowed. It didn’t necessarily grip me and I wouldn’t add it to a list of my all-time-favorite-books-ever-written, but it was enjoyable enough.

I actually liked another one of Laura Amy Schlitz’s books better, called: A Drowned Maidens Hair. Forrest and I listened to it in the car on our way back from spending Thanksgiving with my parents. It was a little difficult to get into it but it ended up being really, really interesting and definitely kept us alert for the late night hours. Well, I fell asleep but what else is new?

4 thoughts on “Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!

  1. I have read that there is some controversy as to whether this book is appealing to children, who would you recommend it to?

    I look forward to experiencing this quest vicariously through you, and perhaps following in your footsteps every now and again!

  2. I’m so glad you’re blogging the Newberry Quest and appreciate this start. Might you briefly review your journey to this point, perhaps share the four or five you’ve most loved or by which you’ve been surprised? Also, yes, you LOVE falling asleep in the car.

  3. In response to the interesting looking cartoon man: I would definitely recommend it to upper elementary kids or middle schoolers. I think it would be ideal for kids of those ages to read it in conjunction with their topic of history in school being the Medieval Times. It seems like Laura Amy Schlitz explains all the confusing things pretty well, but I don’t know if it would really hold kids interest unless they could connect it to something they’re already learning.

  4. In response to the lovely Missy Takano: I think I will give a brief review upon the completion of each decade. I should have started blogging as I was reading because right now I am reading books from the 90’s and finished all the books in 2000 a few weeks ago, so writing this blog is like playing catch up. Anyway, expect to find a review when I finish writing about Year 2000…dun, dun dun.

Leave a Reply

