Food / Momhood

a reality check & a bran muffin

Being a mom is hard.

Specifically, the lack of sleep thing.

To be honest, it has really been getting me down these days.

While Juniper goes to sleep like a champ, she is still waking up several times a night to feed. Once she is fed she will usually go back to sleep pretty easily; however, I have a more difficult time. It is 3 am and my brain simply won’t shut off. I start to worry about this and that until I look at the clock and it is 4 am and then 5 am. And just when I have fallen back to sleep….you know the rest.

I don’t want to make a habit of whining to you, but I also don’t want to paint an unrealistic picture of my motherhood experience. It ain’t all roses and rainbows over here.

That is why something like a hearty muffin, a hot cup of coffee and an amazing fella who takes the baby for an hour or two in the morning so I can get a little more shut-eye is just the thing to make life okay again.

Mom's Bran Muffin

Mom’s Bran Muffin

My mom has been making these muffins for years, probably because they are easy to make, they make a ton, and they are really filling. Forrest requested them the other morning, and I was more than happy to oblige. They make a gallon (WHAT??) so you can either power through and bake the whole darn mix at once and freeze the muffins you don’t eat right away, or keep the mix in the fridge for a couple of weeks and make them fresh each morning, or every other morning, or whatever strikes your fancy.

My Nana wrote out the recipe for me when I got married. I love her handwriting!

Recipe

Recipe

Here is the non-blurry version of the recipe:

Bran Muffins
Makes 1 gallon

1- 12oz box of Raisin Bran (Forrest does not like raisins, so I just use any bran cereal I can find. Trader Joe’s has a great one for $1.99!)
3 cups sugar
5 cups flour
5 tsp baking soda
2 tsp salt
4 eggs, beaten
1 cup vegetable oil
1 qt buttermilk

In a large bowl, mix together cereal, sugar, flour, soda and salt. To this mixture add eggs, oil and buttermilk. Mix well and cover.

Side note: Really make sure it is mixed well. The bran cereal I use has a lot of crevices so unincorporated flour/baking soda/salt can get stuck in there, which is not pleasant tasting. Trust me.

Store in refrigerator for 4-6 weeks. When you want to bake a few, spoon into greased muffin tins. Bake 15-20 minutes at 400 degrees.

You could also add frozen blueberries, nuts, bananas, or anything else that strikes your fancy. This is a very forgiving recipe, and it is fun to adapt depending on the season.

Enjoy!

Love,
Libs

3 thoughts on “a reality check & a bran muffin

  1. “a reality check & a bran muffin | Newbery Quest” definitely
    got me personally simply hooked on ur site! I actuallydefinitely will be returning significantly more
    frequently. With thanks -Linwood

  2. “a reality check & a bran muffin | Newbery Quest”
    was indeed a incredibly wonderful blog post, .
    Continue creating and I’ll try to continue to keep browsing! Thanks for your time -Consuelo

Leave a Reply

